Shoutbox

Author Topic: [Experiment] Kindred - Alternate Immortality (Preview 2)  (Read 2972 times)

Offline sublogic

• Reputation Power:
[Experiment] Kindred - Alternate Immortality (Preview 2)
« on: 25 January 2015, 18:31:09 »

Idea was from some of the stuff I posted in xpressive_dan Eternal Life.

I was picking up modding and scripting in general, and decided to use those ideas for learning...

disclaimer: there is no mod intended for any release yet, as I am still learning the stuff (and have no confidence whether I can complete enough of anything for a proper "release") (anyway, need to find out why the mod launcher always crash on me...)

The basic idea is to take some of the need to make players immortal, or eternally young and slap some story/lore into it.
In this case, I chose the theme of Vampires.

Borrowing lots of ideas from a white wolf wiki (makers of rpg game system Vampire: The Masquerade among others, I put together a small mod to learn how the game/scripts work.

Preview #1: First Blood
http://imgur.com/a/N5udz#0

Preview #2: Disciplines and Skills
http://imgur.com/a/MJqTv#0

Summary of features: (Detailed version in another post)
  • Become a Kindred (Vampire)
  • Suck blood and make more kindred
  • Kindred do not age, and is immune to diseases
  • Kindred are also sterile... if you want to have children, do so before becoming undead...
  • Sun damage - Kindred take damage from the sun. The amount of damage varies over the day, peaking at noon. Stay indoors. This can be disabled from config.ini though. Day lengths now vary slightly with season
  • Holy ground damage - Kindred take damage if they enter holy ground. Also can be disabled via config.ini. The damage is now varied by the faith level as well as religion. For matching religion with holy ground, the kindred will either take less damage if his faith is high (above 50), or more damage if it is low (below 50)