Shoutbox

Author Topic: Progress of (Game-)Time  (Read 13511 times)

Offline ever

• Reputation Power:
Re: Progress of (Game-)Time
« Reply #15 on: 10 May 2011, 13:15:07 »
First of all Ive got to say im completely new to Guild series. I don't know nothing about these (Im about to buy my first Guild2 Reinnasance today)... but I know about some other "medieval" games focused in those years (1600-1700)

About the "how the time runs" question, I would suggest you to have a look at one game focused in that period: Mount and Blade. If you now mount and blade series ("Warband" and "With Fire and Sword" are the latest games of the series).

There you can see that game manages economy, battle, time and events in a proper way. It's scripted programmed. You could see that 1 day may last about 1 minute in game when you are travelling on the world map.
Economy is also time based, as it's recalculated when time reaches X days.
Weather, so seasons of the year (Winter, summer, ...) also affects the game, or it could, couse in winter trips are harder, and battles are also harder, while in rest of seasons it's at normal rate.

Having this game in account, you could get some good ideas for Kontor, such as:

A time system where times flows according to space: WHen you are travellling time could go faster, when you are at towns, travel could go slower.

A weather system affecting space, speed and attributes: weather is harder on open spaces, such as world map (woods, roads, traveling) which affects speed of travelling, and attributes to fighting. While weather also affects economy making winter season to demand some concrete items (wood, food) than others one.

About food and sleep themes, I found having food in inventory (automatic use) or being in need to eat is important in game. Sleeping could also be handled according to time. PLayer should rest once a day, being the "resting time" a fast time in game, as it usually (but not always) is a nothing happened time.